National Sports Awards 2021 announced

President of India will give away the awards on 13th November 2021

Posted On: 02 NOV 2021 9:18PM by PIB Delhi

Key Highlights

- Major Dhyan Chand KhelRatna Award 2021 will be given to 12 Sports persons
- 35 Sports persons will receive Arjuna Awards for outstanding performance in Sports and Games 2021 Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports announced the National Sports Awards 2021 today. The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Darbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan on 13th November, 2021(Saturday) at 1630 hrs.National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.
- 'Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award' is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of previous four years.
- 'Arjuna Award for outstanding performance in Sports and Games' is given for good performance over a period of previous four years and showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.
- 'Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games' is given to coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.
- 'Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement in Sports and Games' is given to honour sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to promotion of sports event after their retirement.
- 'Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar' is given to corporate entities (both in private and public sector), sports control boards, NGOs including sports bodies at the State and National level who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee headed by Justice (Retd.) Mukundakam Sharma (former Judge of Supreme Court), consisting members from eminent sportspersons and persons having experience in sports journalism & sports administrator etc.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches and entities:

i. Major Dhyan Chand KhelRatna Award 2021

S. No.	Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
1.	Neeraj Chopra	Athletics
2.	Ravi Kumar	Wrestling
3.	LovlinaBorgohain	Boxing

4.	Sreejesh P.R	Hockey
5.	AvaniLekhara	Para Shooting
6.	SumitAntil	Para Athletics
7.	PramodBhagat	Para Badminton
8.	Krishna Nagar	Para Badminton
9.	Manish Narwal	Para Shooting
10.	Mithali Raj	Cricket
11.	Sunil Chhetri	Football
12.	Manpreet Singh	Hockey

(ii) Arjuna Awards for outstanding performance in Sports and Games 2021

S. No.	Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
1.	Arpinder Singh	Athletics
2.	SimranjitKaur	Boxing
3.	ShikharDhawan	Cricket
4.	Bhavani Devi Chadalavada Anandha Sundhararaman	Fencing
5.	Monika	Hockey
6.	VandanaKatariya	Hockey
7.	SandeepNarwal	Kabaddi
8.	HimaniUttamParab	Mallakhamb
9.	AbhishekVerma	Shooting
10.	AnkitaRaina	Tennis
11.	Deepak Punia	Wrestling
12.	Dilpreet Singh	Hockey
13.	Harman Preet Singh	Hockey
14.	Rupinder Pal Singh	Hockey
15.	Surender Kumar	Hockey
16.	AmitRohidas	Hockey
17.	BirendraLakra	Hockey
18.	Sumit	Hockey
19.	Nilakanta Sharma	Hockey
20.	Hardik Singh	Hockey
21.	VivekSagar Prasad	Hockey
22.	Gurjant Singh	Hockey
23.	Mandeep Singh	Hockey
24.	Shamsher Singh	Hockey
25.	Lalit Kumar Upadhyay	Hockey
26.	Varun Kumar	Hockey

27.	Simranjeet Singh	Hockey
28.	YogeshKathuniya	Para Athletics
29.	Nishad Kumar	Para Athletics
30.	Praveen Kumar	Para Athletics
31.	SuhashYathiraj	Para Badminton
32.	SinghrajAdhana	Para Shooting
33.	Bhavina Patel	Para Table Tennis
34.	Harvinder Singh	Para Archery
35.	Sharad Kumar	Para Athletics

(iii) Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games 2021

A. Life-Time Category:

S. No.	Name of the Coach	Discipline
1.	T. P. Ouseph	Athletics
2.	SarkarTalwar	Cricket
3.	Sarpal Singh	Hockey
4.	Ashan Kumar	Kabaddi
5.	Tapan Kumar Panigrahi	Swimming

B. Regular Category:

S. No.	Name of the Coach	Discipline
1.	Radhakrishnan Nair P	Athletics
2.	SandhyaGurung	Boxing
3.	PritamSiwach	Hockey
4.	Jai PrakashNautiyal	Para Shooting
5.	Subramanian Raman	Table Tennis

(iv) Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement in Sports and Games 2021

S.No.	Name	Discipline
1.	Lekha K.C.	Boxing
2.	AbhijeetKunte	Chess
3.	Davinder Singh Garcha	Hockey
4.	Vikas Kumar	Kabaddi
5.	Sajjan Singh	Wrestling

(vi) Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2021

S. No.	Category	Entity recommended for RashtriyaKhelProtsahanPurask
--------	----------	---

		ar, 2021
1.	Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent	ManavRachna Educational Institution
2.	Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility	Indian Oil Corporation Limited

(vii) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2021:

Panjab University - Chandigarh

NB/OA

(Release ID: 1769041)